CO.E Interview: Malik Glenn

The first thing I did when I found out that I would be going to Buffalo for a month was hit up Malik. Without him my stay in Buffalo wouldn’t be nearly as close to how good it turned out. I owe him alot for coming to pick me up from my aunts in Lancaster to go session then back without asking for gas money. This dude is probably one of the realest people I have met and glad that I did. My first day skating with him he got down to business on this death rail I wasn’t trying to mess with. All and all im definitely going to be chilling with him soon. – gregory preston

1. You just moved from Buffalo to Maryland, how is the skate scene over there?

Yeah I’ve been down here a….wow a month now. I was born and raised in Buffalo, NY and stayed there when my parents moved to MD 2 1/2 years ago. Been flying all over the world with my parents since I was a youngin so when I turned 21 I was more than ready to get out and move on to bigger and better things. The scene here is really tight and the guys im skating with are all down to skate whatever. I meet a couple of VA locals last summer when I visited Wakefield in VA. Its $5 park and you have to wear a helmet there but theres sooo many other free concrete parks out here with huge pool bowls to. I have never seen bowls like this so it’s been a learning experience. My first two weeks here I didn’t see the same spot twice, which is a refreshing change. Im loving every bit of it. And my homie Bear Phillips is filming for a little video he asked me to have a section in, which is a great opportunity. He introduced me to the scene in VA, DC and some MD people and that’s where im at now. Im lovin the opportunities and options I have in this area.


by: Nick Demarchi

2. How did u start the blade game?

2. Hmmm. Its kinda complicated. When I was in 4th grade my soccer teammate had a birthday party at skatepark called Pipe Dreams. I didn’t really know what I was getting into so I showed up with some rinky dink blades and a bike helmet & attempted to roll around.haha One of his friends told me I should try on his ST-90’s cause they had better ankle support, wheels, bearings, and had soul plates. When I put them on they felt natural and I was dropping in on every ramp except the 8footer my first day at a park. I made my mom buy me those skates 2 weeks later and did it for the summer but then the park closed down and that was it. It wasn’t until I graduated HS and stopped playing basketball in ‘07 I had to start all over again. I could do a soul grind and frontside. That was about it.haha

3. Heard that you are heading to new york city, what are you plans there?

Yeah my family all lives in the city pretty much so im visiting them. I was also trying to hit up the LES Box Jam at 12th St & Ave D but it rained all damn day so I didn’t get to skate that until a couple days later. Sean Agoliati messaged me to check out a few good spots and connected me with Ryan Many who gave me a place to stay. Good looks Sean & Ryan & Cesar! We hit up some street spots and I got a few clips for the NOVA video before dislocating my shoulder on friday. I checked out the Maloof skate comp on Saturday and saw some crazy stuff go down. NYC street skating is serious. It’s the perfect atmosphere for street skating!


Fakie 360 by: Nick Demarchi

4. Buffalo is known for its tasty food, whats the restraunt where traveler need to check out?

Oh yeah. If I didn’t have a fast metabolism I would be a 300 pounder.haha One of my favorite local spots is a little Jamaican place on Main St called the Rastaurant. They have the best patties, curry, ox tails, refreshments u name it. Then theres the best wings in the country located in buffalo. La Nova has great pizza and wings. Jims Steakout or ETS (elmwood taco & sub) is always a good place for drunk food since theyre open till 5am or later. The Original Pancake House, not to be confused with Ihop, has great breakfast. They make all types of fruit pancakes and crepes. And if your in the mood for some Hispanic food Papis is off the chain, and its right down the street from the skatepark xtreme wheels. Or if your feeling Thai the Taste of Thai on Hertel ave is the best bang for your buck always.

5. What happened at your hotel after the bittercold showdown?

Bro I don’t even want to talk about it. Assholes who don’t know how to respectfully party in a city that’s not theirs were RAGING way to hard. People were banging on our door, smashing emergency glass, and trying to walk in our room sloppy as hell so we kept our door locked and only let in our homies. Next thing we knew there was some hard banging on our door so we didn’t answer. Then they yelled it’s the cops and we had to get out immediately. We opened the door and they evicted the whole area of our motel. We had no choice but to pack our shit and leave. The hotel manager said we even had to leave so rather than pay for another night we drove back to Buffalo at like 3am. Between the judging drama, video premier, and hotel situation it was the worst BCSD ive been to straight up.


by: Nick Demarchi

6. Every buffalo skater has that sick steeze like josh marlinsky and dan barnes, whats the secret?

I don’t know if I have their level of steeze yet but its developing. Those guys lace tricks with 0 flaws all day every day. Skating with guys of that caliber definitely helped me develop to where I am now so quickly. Josh and I skated together a lot so all I know is lacing tricks with style. Dan is always lacing tricks on spots ive never seen with ease. Then theres the Rochester guys like Tim Adams, Steve Bruning, Mike Torres, and Nate Hall who have been skating forever. They are all soo clean with tricks so I had to be also. Every scene I think has its own style and Buffalo is definitely about lacing clean, creative tricks. It just doesn’t look good if its sloppy. No one can disagree with that.


by: Brian Barnwell

7. You knocked out some dude cold on the street while the cops rolled up?

7. Oh boy..I didn’t know people even knew about that story.haha Well I was at a fellow bladders apartment drinkin 40’s on his stoop with a couple shorties and someone else. Everyone but Sara and I had left so I told her im gonna go get my bike from upstairs, ill be right back down. At this point it’s just after 4am and the bars are closing. Basically more drunk people are roaming the streets. When I come back down with my bike Sarah is arguing with some dude saying “leave me alone”, as im getting out the alley I hear a bottle break. Now theyre both yelling and I come out to see glass all over the street. Shes saying he wont leave her alone, grabbed her bottle, and was getting way to close. This guy must have been more bent than me because I had about 5 inches on him but he still proceeds to get in my face once I tell to take a walk and leave us alone. He gets back in my face and says “you cant tell me what to do” and then I realize this guy who was wearing a polo smells like shit. Hes a fuckin bum. At this point I kinda feel bad for him and I proceeded to tell him he smells like piss and needs to get the hell out of there and stop bothering us. He then gets in my face more and says “you aint so tough”, ive been to jail before, I know how to handle you”. Several words are exchanged when I tell him to walk or im going make u walk. He then makes his final mistake and puts his hands towards my neck and says “Im gonna cut you”. I immediately step back and hit him square in the face. He falls like a tree. When he woke up he tried getting back up so I get over him, hit him with a 1, 2, 3, hes leaking, and next thing I know police are right on the street saying put your hands on the hood, cuffed me and threw me in the back of the car. After the cop gets back in I explain the situation and talk my way out of it. Only problem is he dropped me off in the middle of downtown 5miles away from home. I didn’t get back to the crib till the sun came up. It was shitty but I kept telling myself better to be walking all night than in a cell.


by: James Haschmann

~ by efficiencyiskey on August 23, 2010.

10 Responses to “CO.E Interview: Malik Glenn”

  1. […] Read the full story at CO.Efficient […]

  2. Great interview Malik! Keep up the great skating, my friend. V

  3. FRESH my man! Good to have u shred with the new blade family!

  4. You’re a piece of work Malik 😀
    Can’t wait to skate on Monday!

  5. pure dopamine. I remember skating in your driveway in Buffalow on that box with Nia like it was yesterday. I see you’ve come a long way. I just copped another Alien Workshop deck with a random set but I’m lightyears away from a tape like this. Keep doin your thing big dog.

  6. Thanks to everyone for the love & rollingupdates.com for posting this!
    there will be a lot more coming from me in the future

  7. So proud of you babe…even more proud to be ur cousin 🙂

  8. Greatest interview ive ever read.
    Keep livin the Malik Glenn Black trademark lifestyle and the recognition will keep comin

  9. […] Heard that you are heading to New York City, what are you plans there? Yeah my family all lives in the city pretty much so im visiting them. I was also trying to hit up the LES Box Jam at 12th St & Ave D but it rained all damn day so I didn’t get to skate that until a couple days later. Sean Agoliati messaged me to check out a few good spots and connected me with Ryan Many who gave me a place to stay. Good looks Sean & Ryan & Cesar! We hit up some street spots and I got a few clips for the NOVA video before dislocating my shoulder on friday. I checked out the Maloof skate comp on Saturday and saw some crazy stuff go down. NYC street skating is serious. It’s the perfect atmosphere for street skating! See the full interview here. […]

  10. […] Check out his interview HERE […]

Leave a Reply

 
