CO.E INTERVIEW: Danny Beer



I’ve been keeping up on Danny’s skating for about a year now since I saw his mixtape 2 online edit last year. I honestly believe this guys got some serious natural talent in blading. Dudes style is soo sick, laces every trick steezed but most importantly the creativity in his edits really make me want to get on his level. In short his skating is FIRE – gregory prestön

Blader: Danny Beer
Age: 20
Location: St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada
Years skating: 12
Current set-up: Valo AB whites, white Create frames, Richie Eisler undercover wheels and Themgoods bearings.

1. How did you start skating? What was it like growing up skating in Newfoundland? Does it differ from the rest of Canada’s Skate scenes?

Skating?, I started playing hockey when I was 3 years old, so I’ve been skating for a while! I started getting into rollerblading with my cousin Mike, when we were about 8. My brother’s friend James had a pair of Roces 5th element skates and we watched him slide a curb by our house. We thought it was dope and put on our rec skates trying it. I remember we bought our first pair of skates when we were 9, and got some friends into it later. Local OG’s Phil St. Aubin , Matt Heneghan, and Brian O’Rafferty were people we looked up to. Really a blessing we started skating with them, because they knew skating and got us rolling off to a fresh start. We used to shit every time they would show up at the skatepark because it was rare to see a rollerblader. They all have incredible style and it definitely had a huge influence on the type of skating Mike grew into. As Mike and I grew older, we started to call them nervously call them up to skate. Eventually we started filming with them and hanging out, now we’re all good friends today. It differs here a lot. People think once you move on with your life, you quit skating. Anywhere else in Canada, you see people age 30+ skating, and its no big deal. That’s what really makes me happy when I travel to skate. Shit, when I go away to skate I feel like a grom. It’s just a normal activity, I don’t know why most of my friends quit, it really bothers me. No ones asking you to go out a kill yourself just come out for a laugh.

2. The skate scene out there looks like it’s spawning a lot of new blader’s, which is just what blading needs. How did that happen, do you see it growing in the future?

Phil came up with a local video called, “The SUM”. It was a combination of bmx, skateboarding, snowboarding and rollerblading. Lots of local kids saw it and realized that rollerblading doesn’t look corny compared to the rest of them. Everyone in St. John’s gets along, no matter what hobby you prefer and I think this video had a lot to do with that. Like I said, all my friends pretty much quit after this year, so I was basically stuck on my own trying to promote Shop-Task to a younger audience and the scene is really strong now. To answer your question, I can definitely see it growing. The guys I skate with now are pretty passionate about it and their not going to quit. Some kids that have skates here will quit, but I know a select few who will always skate.

3. The Task Around Tour was so sick, how did that come up? Are you going to do another this year or any other skating trip?

Thanks man, I’m glad you noticed it. Well my friend Leon, who runs Shop-Task has been doing this for years now. Last year he wanted to tour Newfoundland, because he noticed the growing scene and wanted to document some of the unique scenery we have here. I continued with them on tour after Mathieu Ledoux had to go home because of his stunt job, so I wasn’t even supposed to be on it. There was an extra seat in AJ’s car, so I went for it. I was extremely lucky to have this opportunity because I met some inspiring people, (Like Steve Croft) and learned a lot. I’m doing the tour again this year and I can’t wait. Basically my plans this year are to meet up with Leon at the Brampton Comp that Dave Ghent, is hosting in Ontario on June 18th. Then fly to Vancouver to live at Leon’s house with Taylor Ritchie. I will be filming lots since I’ll be with people my age, and can’t wait to live in Vancouver and skate with all the locals.

4. Also on the tour Leon ate a McClobster (a lobster in a hot dog bun) from a Mc Donalds, are those popular in Canada?

Hahaha you saw Leon’s reaction after mowin’ that MClobster, I don’t think it was any gourmet meal. In fact, I’ve never had a MClobster and probably never will. It’s not popular here, just available you know? I think people here stick to the big Mac meals just like everywhere else and continue to poison themselves.

5. You unfortunately broke your wrist last year in the middle of filming last summer, do you think you’re 100% for getting clips for the Shop-Task commercial that your working on?

I’ve broken a lot of things skating, and my wrist was by far the worst (healing wise). I went to a physiotherapist, and am continuing to work on it by myself now. I think the pain has to do with the amount of metal that’s in my wrist. It’s only a little pain if I fall on it, and its actually much more functional in warm weather so I guess it works out. After 12 years of skating, I can’t really complain. I feel healthy everywhere else and am more than ready to start filming for Shop-Task and other projects, 100%.

6. You have a really unique type of skating, who do you think influenced you the most? Or is it mainly the location and the spots you skate?

I’m happy to know that at least one person doesn’t judge my skating because I wear a helmet, so thanks for the kind words. I kind of strive on being a bit different; my brain is a rambunctious vagabond. Tons of people influence me, mostly people who don’t even rollerblade. My cousin Mike, always skated creatively and wanted to film some weird stuff.. I think after he stopped skating, I appreciated the way he thought as a skater and tried it out for myself. Also, skating with a younger crew made me skate differently as well. I used to pretty much only skate big stuff, but this made my skating much more tech. They’re still learning (incredibly fast btw) and skating smaller things; which is something I always lacked in. So I’m actually glad this happened. I basically had to entertain myself by trying new things because whatever we were skating was basic. I also have A.D.D so that comes to my advantage while skating, I just find it hard to focus on other things like school.
I think the spots here are great. None of them are perfect whatsoever, but that makes the shot interesting. The scenery here is extremely different and it helps to make clips better for sure. I like to skate weird spots, because it grabs a person’s attention/focus, and they generally appreciate it because of that. Newfoundland is amazing for filming period; I take advantage of it more and more every time I work on a new project here now.

7. How did the Skate NO Hate sessions start? I came up with the “skate no hate“ sessions to bring skaters together socially as far as I can remember. Once my friends quit skating, I realized it was important to actually be down with the people you skate with. It helped the scene for sure and I think people are anxious for the next one. Hopefully it will grow each year. Also, not that I think competitions are lame, but I think the vibe from these BBQ sessions is enjoyable for everyone that stops through.. We all have a good time, no matter your age or level of skating.

8. What do you think is important to focus on skating wise?

Focus on appreciating others involved, rather than hating. I think when rollerblader’s hate on each other, its wack. If you care what people wear clothing wise, you’re an idiot. I also despise this new trend amongst skaters that thinking their crew is the best and everything else sucks; that attitude is killing skating. If you don’t like something you see in skating, just ignore it! Chances are if they are doing something stupid, its not going to last long anyways. Most importantly, I’ve always thought that learning tricks before you know how to rollerblade properly is ridiculous. Kids get skates and, “omg I wanna grind something!” Well, I hate to be a neggy nancy here, but its not eye catching to watch. Funny how kids can do really hard tricks, but if you watch them in a bowl, they trip up in their own feet. You can clearly see a skater’s skill level when skating a bowl or flowing a line properly on the streets. Quality over quantity in this situation! I remember when I traveled to Kamloops, B.C for the POP contest when I was 18, and I saw Joey McGarry do a soul grind on a 4-foot quarter pipe. Might not sound impressive to you, but I felt so nervous skating the comp after that because it looked so good. He literally had complete control and was flying at the obstacle with 100% confidence and it looked awesome. Other than that, there is really nothing wrong with skating right now. I just like when people have a good time and encourage a positive vibe. No need to make some fun into a shit show. People need to consider having more of an attitude like Montre, he seems like a great dude.

9. Do you have anything else planned for this year?

On my excursion this year I want to film a full-length section for something liked I attempted last year before my injury… maybe it will end up online. I’m not sure at the moment what it will be used for. I just want to document my summer basically and express my personality throughout a full-length profile.

Any shout outs?

Family for being down with what I do, change, people who influence me to keep doing what I am passionate about, ODC crew, all my longtime friends, mushroom crew, music, skaters over the world, Valo-Brand, and Leon Basin at Shop//Task for just helping me out with life.

~ by efficiencyiskey on May 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
